Canada turns 150: My experience

I’ve lived in Canada my entire life, so when my home turned 150 years old, I wanted to participate. My boyfriend and I spent the entire day going to different festivities. Canada is one of the only days a year I am ever patriotic so I went all out.

First stop we went to Confederation Park to see the opening of the time capsule from 1967. My boyfriend was especially excited for this event. We woke up early and were luckily in walking distance to the park. The event was supposed to commence at 11:00 a.m., but after numerous speeches and singing “O Canada” and time rolling to 11:45 a.m. did we get to actually see the time capsule. We were pretty disappointed to see that the time capsule only contained some 1967 coins and a couple newspapers.

image2 (1)

Next, we went downtown to see all the attractions. They weren’t lying when they said that there would be lots to do. There was booths, performers, educators and more all along the downtown. I was pretty impressed with it all. There also happened to be an anime convention going on which was cool to see all the costumes. During these types of events we are usually unsure of what we will be able to eat, but luckily at a food truck they sold vegan corn dogs and vegan poutine which was delicious!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

After spending many hours at all the attractions, we met up with some friends at a pub. To say the pub was crowded would be a huge understatement. This pub was extremely packed, but we luckily found a table. The service, however, was exceptionally awful (I know it’s one of their busiest days). We spent majority of our time there trying to track down a waitress or waiter and when we asked for the bill we received dirty looks. All in all it was a fun time.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

We got out of the pub just in time for the free concerts to start. We all wanted to see Tegan and Sara, who are arguably the most famous musicians from Calgary. Of course, they had an opening act who also happened to be from Calgary, Michael Bernard Fitzgerald. For an opening act Michael was decent, although I do think he dragged out his performances a little too long. He had really good vocals and sounded just as he did on his recordings. Tegan and Sara finally hit the stage and they were phenomenal! The visual show was great and they sounded great. I also really liked how they left their most popular songs until the end. During the shows, people threw light up sticks into the crowd, which people waved around during the show. My boyfriend was really into this and was able to get 3 of them.

image1 (10)

Next Nenshi, our mayor, said another speech and hit a magic button which set off the fireworks. These fireworks were incredible and lasted for nearly 40 minutes! During the fireworks, Canadian music from the 60s, onward was played which made it extra special. I felt like I was in a movie. I was with those I love and celebrating my country with the city’s community (which doesn’t happen a lot). All in all it was a day well spent!

Thanks for reading xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

