Behind in Life?

This is the post that every twenty something (mainly females) will make. I will try and not sound like everyone else, but I’m a very unoriginal person so this might be a hard task.

One of my former high school friends got married over the weekend at the ripe age of twenty one. I’m twenty one this summer. See where I’m going with this? My mom always told me that my twenties would be the decade of my life where I would see all my friends and peers get married and starting families and so far she has not been wrong. Since graduating high school three years ago, I’ve had so many of my peers either get married or have kids or both. Whenever I see this a little voice in my head goes “wow, you’re really behind”.

I’m a full time student with a steady relationship with someone I love very much. I have a hard time remembering to take my pills, change my underwear and brush my teeth. I usually have Dr. Pepper for breakfast most days and making my own appointments is a huge achievement for me. The fact that people my age can take care of themselves, their husband/partner and another tiny human being baffles me to no end.

Whenever I see a peer post on social media about taking care of their young one or their marriage it always makes me feel like I’m not where I should be. These people seem so mature and adult-like. Where did I go wrong to be so behind them? Even talking to these peers in person, it always feels like they’re 10 years older than me rather than the same age. I feel like I can’t relate to them and we have lost all things we ever had in common. But that’s just it…

People are different. I’m in one place in my life and they are in a different one. I’m perfectly content being a slightly lazy (hardworking obviously) student and they are content with being a spouse and/or parent.

Who came up with the ideals of where someone should be at a certain point in life? No point in life is superior to the other. Pressure to go one way or the other needs to stop asap! Honestly if someone is pressuring you to do something in general just say NO and then silently wish the worst extents of explosive diarrhea on them and move on.

Also, social media is a nasty little prick and lots of people only showcase the good parts of their situation (extremely guilty of this myself). Who knows? Maybe they forgot to give their kid a bath in three weeks or maybe they have Dr. Pepper for breakfast just like you. Or maybe someone has just graduated from college and has a job in place and it looks so glamorous and fulfilling, but in actuality they hate the field they are in and are dreading going to work everyday. It goes both ways.

All I know is I am trying my best to make the most of the point of life I am in right now and I hope whoever is reading this will try to do the same (I’m legit a motivational speaker please hire me).

Thanks for reading xoxoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

